Night Flower – Freak

A friend just passed on news about this exquisite sounding new fragrance of the night.

It has a poem that goes along with it:

I wanted to write one in response…

 

Night Flower

 

 

My heart whose petals keep fading, lover can you smell

the pall of death on me?

 

I’m the white star come morning.

Remember my scent in the night,

what joys we had?

The light of darkness a violet

cloak for our tears?

 

And now this crumpled stain,

my heart, my voice,

an echo through the empty house

as sun rises.

 

JL Williams   2011   www.jlwilliamspoetry.co.uk

 

This all feels just right somehow with Halloween around the corner!  Proper gothique.

Your thoughts...

