JUS Interview No. 7 – Andrea Maack, Visual Artist

JUS perfume interview

 

 

Your name – Andrea Maack

Your work – Visual artist

  1. What first attracted you to the world of perfume / scent / fragrance?

I like the idea of being able to wear perfume as a piece of art. I was working on a series of artworks that dealt with the concept of wearable art and in the process the idea to make the ultimate scent came along, that´s how I created SMART (Smell art) my first ever perfume creation, that was made in a collaboration with a perfumer that translated my original drawings into a fragrance

  1. What perfume would you rescue from your collection if an evil perfume tax collector came round and said he was going to take every scent but one?

I would rescue Craft from my collection it has such a strong emotional connection to me, it was made for an exhibition to accompany a dress that I had made our of pattern cutting paper and pencil the piece took about 200 hours to make so the scent always reminds me of that amazing process.

  1. If you won the lottery, what would be the first perfume in your shopping bag?

I would get my favorite perfumer to create a scent for me with no budget or time restrictions.

  1. If you could only wear one scent for the rest of your life, what would it be?

CRAFT

  1. What is a smell, or combination of smells, you wish was a perfume that you’ve never come across in any bottle before?

The answer lies in new fragrances that I am currently working on.

  1. Can you describe a moment of passion or poignancy in your life linked to a scent?

My partner (and business partner) bought me a lot of niche fragrances when we started dating six years ago. I like how they create a journey through our relationship and and end in our own line of unique fragrances.

  1. What is your earliest memory of perfume?

Probably Christalle by Chanel, growing up in Iceland we do not have a strong perfume culture, but I remember Christalle as being a scent I felt could export me to Paris and the life I envisioned for myself as a child.

  1. Is there a perfume you wore in the past that you no longer wear, and why?

I used to wear Balenciaga perfume because I wear a lot of their clothing, now I mostly wear my own creations.

  1. Is there a particular figure or house in the world of perfume that you admire, and why?

My long time collaborator Renaud Coutadier of DP&CO (www.dpandco.com). He is true visionary when it comes to perfume and no idea is too crazy for him, I like that attitude.

  1.  Is there any art (literature, poetry, theatre, visual art, music, etc) that you have experienced that uses scent in a provocative or beautiful way?  If not, can you think of an idea for scent in art?

I like Ernesto Neto´s scented installations they are both beautiful visually and intriguing from a visual art standpoint.

Explore Andrea’s beautiful and stimulating work and purchase her scents at http://andreamaack.com/.

1 comment
  1. Maggie said:

    Really enjoyed your interviews and would like to follow your blog – thanks!

Your thoughts...

