Hair Colour and Perfume

(This is not my hair!  But it’s more like that now than it used to be.)

This morning my friend Abby noticed that I have changed my hair colour yet again – it was getting blonder and blonder until a recent hairdressing appointment saw me leaving with what my partner’s sister described as ‘turbo blonde’ hair.  That dye job was painted on bleach and it hurt!  I even had blisters on my scalp for a few days.  I decided that I’m never doing that again.  Also, it looked great for about two weeks until the roots started to grow in.  Bad!

So, I decided to go the Lush Henna route.  This was a big decision as henna, as I have learned in the past, does not take kindly to mind-changing.  I had hennaed hair a number of years ago, decided to bleach it blonde, ended up with green and pink hair that mostly needed to be cut off, dyed dark brown, and treated very carefully for a long time until it grew out.  So going from blonde back to hennaed brown felt like a potential disaster but it worked out quite well actually.  I had to do it a couple of times, and have a feeling I might need to henna it a little more often than usual at first to help my super bleached hair hold the colour, but thanks to Caca Brun I’ve now got rich chocolate brown locks that feel thicker and in better condition than they have in AGES.

I feel so empowered as well, knowing that I can do this myself and that I don’t have to spend £100 in the hair dressers every time my roots grow in.  Phew!

Anyway, when Abby saw my hair, she said – now you can wear a different perfume!  And I was fascinated and asked her what she meant.

Apparently it’s something her mum told her when she was little – brunettes can wear musky perfumes, blondes can wear florals, or something along those lines.

While I don’t exactly agree, and generally believe anyone can wear any sort of perfume they like (whatever smell, whatever gender), I do think it’s a sweet notion.  I want to know now what sort of perfume red heads should wear!  And do different hair styles necessitate different styles of perfume?

Have you ever heard about this and do you think certain smells go better with particular hair colours/types (curly, straight, etc) or styles?

I’m wearing Lush’s delectable Breath of God today, which I think I’d wear no matter what colour my hair was, as it’s so darn beautiful!

PS Abby’s response to the post:

On that note, I propose lovely sandalwoods and single notes for  redheads…

On the single note note though, have you come across Demeter single note perfumes – they have an incredible range – Earl Grey, pavement, and lettuce, laundromat, vinyl among others (yes, lettuce).

Your thoughts...

